Eat, Drink and Be Merry

Mid-Semester Update

Posted on: October 30, 2008

Wow, so it’s been awhile since I’ve posted! I thought I’d give a personal update for anyone who still reads my “personal” blog.

School
Classes are moving along. I’m finding Greek to be rather enjoyable, and I’m doing extremely well in it. Ugaritic is becoming a bit boring, I’m tired of all the vocalization stuff. I’m also tired of this school’s language pedagogy, which seems to insist that if a “rule” isn’t true 100% of the time, than it’s not worth learning. (Greek being the exception – I find their Greek program to be fairly good.) Might as well memorize everything instead. Silliness. I may post more on this on The Floppy Hat at some point.

Work
Ugh. No comment.

Church
I am once again reminded of what a great church Calvin and I attend. It’s exactly what we need at this point in our lives, and in turn we are able to minister there with joy. We’ve been doing some interesting stuff with the youth ministry, which actually leads me into…

Personal Life
We’ve started playing D&D on a semi-regular basis with some students from the youth ministry, at church – didn’t I say my church was awesome? This is my first real exposure to D&D. Previously, my only familiarity with the game was through D&D-based PC and console games like Neverwinter Nights and Baldur’s Gate. I’m finding that it’s a real blast (I always knew I was a real geek at heart)! Calvin and I have also gotten back into Magic: the Gathering, a hobby of ours that has been neglected for a couple years. I’ve re-read some old favorite fictional fantasy books of mine, and we’re having fun watching a vast variety of movies with our semi-new Netflix account. Alas, my spare time for hobbies is not as large as I would like it to be, and I am certainly more stressed than I would like to be right now. But at least I’m not (yet) a quivering mass of jello like I was this time last year.

1 Response to "Mid-Semester Update"

I saw your Facebook status say something about D&D, and I immediately started praying for you to resist the wiles of the devil. [/sarcasm]

Leave a Reply

"Behold, what I have seen to be good and fitting is to eat and drink and find enjoyment in all the toil with which one toils under the sun the few days of his life that God has given him, for this is his lot." -- Qohelet

Categories

Now Reading

Last Listening

Check It Out




Add to Technorati Favorites
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

